News Release

Travel restrictions to 10 countries extended until August 31

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to extend the current travel restrictions in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia from August 16 to August 31, 2021.

Meanwhile, the IATF allowed persons over the age of 65 to go out of their residences to personally file their certificates of candidacy in the national office and designated field offices of the Commission on Elections.

The abovementioned persons shall be recognized as Authorized Persons Outside of Residence from October 1 to 8, 2021, regardless of community quarantine classification and vaccination status.

Also approved is the request of airlines to resume international transit hub operations. These international transit hub operations shall be limited to airside transfers between Terminals 1 and 2, and within Terminal 3 of the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and further limited for countries/jurisdictions/territories in the Green List. As such, protocols for the controlled movement of passengers and health and safety protocols within the terminals shall be strictly observed.

Any traveler who may exhibit symptoms shall comply with isolation and quarantine protocols which shall be for the account of the sponsoring airlines.

Having said this, the IATF directed the Department of Foreign Affairs, the Bureau of Quarantine, and the Bureau of Immigration to formulate the necessary protocols for the issuance of appropriate visas applicable on a case-to-case basis. ###