News Release

President Duterte visits injured soldiers in Zamboanga

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte confers the Order of Lapu-Lapu with the Rank of Kampilan on Staff Sergeant Krisnan Natividad as the President visited the wounded soldiers at Camp Navarro General Hospital in Zamboanga City on July 26, 2018. Natividad was wounded in an encounter with the Abu Sayyaf Group last July 19. Also in the photo is Sec. Bong Go of the Office of the Special Assistant to the President. ALBERT ALCAIN/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

Bagong Calarian, Zamboanga City — President Rodrigo Roa Duterte visited five wounded-in-action soldiers at Camp Navarro General Hospital here on Thursday, July 26.

The Chief Executive arrived at 8:40 p.m. and was received by Lieutenant Colonel Maria Victoria Mandin, Acting Commanding Officer of Camp Navarro General Hospital.

During the hospital visit, President Duterte personally awarded the wounded military officers the Order of Lapu-Lapu with the Rank of Kampilan in honor of their courage, bravery, and sacrifice in the service of the country.

The Order of Lapu-Lapu, Rank of Kampilan is conferred by the President to recognize exemplary service by workers of the government and private individuals who are wounded, injured, or suffered great loss of property for their participation in the advocacy of the President.

Among the wounded soldiers are Staff Sergeant Krisnan E. Natividad, Sergeant Yahcob J. Sarian, Private Eugene S. Gonzales, Private First Class Richard C. Aquino and Corporal Jolly Bert V. Balmore.

The five soldiers were wounded in separate encounters last July 11 and 19 against the Abu Sayyaf members in Patikul, Sulu.

The Commander-in-Chief told the wounded soldiers that he visited them to show how much he cares for the military and assured them of government’s support.

Before leaving the hospital, Duterte briefly talked to soldiers with other medical conditions confined in the hospital.

Also present during the hospital visit were Special Assistant to the President Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go, Department of Interior and Local Government officer-in-charge Eduardo Año and Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana. ### (PND)