News Release

President Duterte swears in new PH Olympic Committee officials

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte administers the oath for the newly-elected Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) Chairman and incumbent Cavite Seventh District Representative Abraham Tolentino and POC President Victorio Vargas during a ceremony at the Malacañan Palace on March 5, 2018. TOTO LOZANO/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday swore in new officials of the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) during a simple ceremony in the Malacañan Palace.

Among those who took their oaths were POC president Victorio Vargas and POC chairman Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino.

Vargas clinched the presidency of the POC ending the reign of Jose “Peping” Cojuangco, who was at the helm of the committee since 2004.

Vargas is the head of the Association of the Boxing Alliances in the Philippines.

Tolentino, who is the current Representative of the 7th district of Cavite, was named POC chairman after defeating table tennis president Ting Ledesma. Tolentino is also the brother of presidential political adviser Francis Tolentino.

As POC chief, Vargas is eyeing to push for a successful campaign in the Asian Games in August and the Philippine’s hosting of the Southeast Asian Games next year.

The POC accredits the members of the Philippine Delegation to the Olympic Games, Asian Games and the Southeast Asian Games.

Other than these games under the patronage of the International Olympic Committee, the different National Sports Associations under the umbrella of the POC also actively participate in their respective international federations (IFs) World Championships and other multi-sports competitions such as the World Games, University Games, Asian Beach Games and Asian Indoor Games.

Meanwhile, the President also presided over the 23rd Cabinet meeting in Malacañang on Monday. PND