News Release

President Duterte honors Dr. Emil Javier with Order of National Scientist award

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte congratulates Dr. Emil Javier, who was conferred with the Order of National Scientist at the Malacañan Palace on January 7, 2020. ALFRED FRIAS/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte conferred on Tuesday, January 7, the Order of National Scientist on Dr. Emil Q. Javier for his outstanding contributions to the fields of science and technology, which helped uplift the lives of ordinary farmers and fisherfolks.

The conferment of the Order of National Scientist on Dr. Javier, the highest honor bestowed by the government on a Filipino scientist, was through Malacañang Proclamation No. 781 signed by President Duterte last August 2, 2019.

“The whole nation owes its deepest gratitude to Dr. Javier for his promising contributions to the scientific community, particularly in tropical agricultural research and crop production,” President said in a speech during the awarding rites held in Malacañang.

The President said he was impressed by Dr. Javier’s passion and dedication to advance the frontiers of science and knowledge for the common good that in turn helped alleviate poverty in the country.

“Your leadership at the Institute of Plant Breeding advanced the production of
high-yielding crops and disease-resistant varieties in the Philippines and in Asia, paving the way to better nourishment and an improved quality of life for our people.”

According to the President, the Filipino scientist had promoted sound agricultural policies and programs, massive utilization of climate and environment-friendly agricultural innovations, and improved governance and management systems that boosted the productivity of Filipino farmers and fisherfolks.

Dr. Javier’s work, he noted, has spurred many applications in agronomy, plant breeding, seed production and management of tropical grasses and legumes, among others.

The perseverance, curiosity and commitment of Dr. Javier inspire everyone to emulate his innovativeness in the science and other serious studies of the environment, the President further said, hoping that Javier’s success encourages more Filipino scientists to carry on with their work and help achieve a sustainable and inclusive future for every Filipino.

Dr. Javier was also cited for his distinctive institution building and leadership when he founded the Institute of Plant Breeding (IPB) at the University of the Philippines (UP) Los Baños in 1975.

The Chief Executive has assured that his administration will continue to pursue programs and initiatives that will further enable, empower and harness the potential of the scientific community to steer the nation towards greater progress.

Present during the conferment rites were Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña, National Academy of Science and Technology President Rhodora Azanza, Sen. Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go, and other cabinet members.

Earlier, President Duterte also conferred the Order of Sikatuna, Rank of Datu (Grand Cross) on Takehiko Nakao, the outgoing president of the Asian Development Bank (ADB), in Malacañang.

Nakao, the ninth president of the ADB and the chairperson of the bank’s Board of Directors, assumed office in April 2013 after being elected by ADB’s Board of Governors.

A Japanese civil servant, Nakao gained extensive experience in international finance and development when he was the Vice Minister of Finance for International Affairs at the Ministry of Finance of Japan before joining ADB. He also published books and numerous papers on financial and economic issues.

Masatsugu Asakawa will replace Nakao following a unanimous vote by the ADB’s Board of Governors.

Accompanying Nakao were Chief Advisor to the President Yoichiro Ikeda, Executive Director for the Philippines Paul Dominguez, Vice President for Operations Ahmed Saeed, and Director General for South East Asia Department Ramesh Subramaniam.

Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, National Economic and Development Authority Dir. Gen. Ernesto Pernia and Senator Go were also present. PND