News Release

President Duterte confers Gawad Mabini award upon 6 DFA officials

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte on Wednesday, September 13, conferred the Gawad Mabini Award upon six Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) officials.

During a ceremony at the President’s Hall in Malacañan Palace, the Gawad Mabini with the rank of Dakilang Kamanong (Grand Cross) was conferred upon Undersecretary Enrique Manalo; Ambassador Elizabeth P. Buensuceso; Consul General Adelio Angelito Cruz; and Ambassador Mario L. de Leon.

The Gawad Mabini with the rank of Dakilang Kasugo (Commander) was conferred upon Vice Consul Theodore Andrei Bauzon and Director Ryan Francis Gener.

The Chief Executive has approved the conferment of the awards for the officials’ dedication and acumen in carrying out the country’s principled and independent foreign policy.

In his message, President Duterte expressed his heartfelt congratulations to the awardees.

The Chief Executive thanked them for upholding and promoting the country’s independent foreign policy “strongly founded on our national interest and carried out through the diversification of our international ties to secure our political, economic, and socio-cultural objectives.”

President Duterte underscored that strengthening the country’s foreign relations is not only a sign of goodwill but also ensures that opportunities for trade and commerce, national security and cooperation, will prosper among nations.

The President stressed that the officials’ unwavering dedication has enabled the Philippines to achieve major foreign policy as well as national economic goals.

He said their efforts have safeguarded and promoted the welfare and rights of Filipinos who are living abroad.

“May you continue your exemplary service in advancing the interest and sovereignty of our nation,” President Duterte said.

The Gawad Mabini, established by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 490, s. 1974, is conferred on Filipinos who rendered distinguished foreign service or helped promote the interests and prestige of the Philippines abroad.

Accompanying the President during the ceremony were Foreign Affairs Secretary Alan Peter Cayetano and Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea. ###PND