News Release

President Duterte bares names of narco-politicians

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte presides over the Joint Armed Forces of the Philippines-Philippine National Police (AFP-PNP) Command Conference at the Arcadia Active Lifestyle Center in Davao City on March 14, 2019. Also in the photo are Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea and Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo Año. RICHARD MADELO/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

DAVAO CITY – President Rodrigo Roa Duterte on Thursday, March 14, revealed some of the names in his updated list of narco-politicians in the country, saying that the public needs to know who to vote for in the upcoming midterm elections in the name of national interest and public safety.

“This is a public interest. We are about to release the politicians connected with narco-politics in their respective areas. It affects national interest…the right to choose leaders who are competent, able, honest, and who are not criminals,” said President Duterte in his speech during the Joint National Peace and Order Council (NPOC) and Regional Peace and Order Council (RPOC) cluster meeting and the Philippine National Police (PNP) – Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) command conference at the Arcadia Active Lifestyle Center, Ecoland here.

“There can never be a valid argument to deny the public, the people of the Philippines at large to know the officials who should not be there in their office. In this particular case now, those who are involved in the deadly game of drug trafficking… It’s a [matter of] national security and national interest,” he added.

The following names were in the list read by the President:
1. Pasaquin, Ilocos Norte Mayor Ferdinand Dancel Aguinaldo
2. Pangasinan First District Representative Jesus Celeste
3. Lasam, Cagayan Mayor Marjorie Apil Salazar
4. Subic, Zambales Mayor Jefferson Khonghun
5. Camiling, Tarlac Mayor Erlon Agustin
6. San Rafael, Bulacan Mayor Cipriano “Goto” D. Violago Jr.
7. Zambales First District Representative Jeffrey Khonghun
8. Lemery, Batangas Mayor Eulalio “Larry” Mendoza Alilio
9. Teresa, Rizal Mayor Raul Santiago Palino
10. Rodriguez, Rizal Mayor Cecilio “Ilyong” C. Hernandez
11. San Pablo, Laguna Mayor Loreto “Ambin” S. Amante
12. Ibaan, Batangas Mayor Juan “Danny” Toreja
13. Lucena City Mayor Roderick Alcala
14. Bay, Laguna Mayor Bruno T. Ramos
15. Los Baños, Laguna Mayor Caesar Perez
16. Rodriguez, Rizal Vice Mayor Dennis Linco Hernandez
17. Rizal Province Board Member Rommel Ayuson
18. El Nido Mayor Nieves Cabuñalda Rosento
19. Hamtic, Antique Mayor Julius Ronald “Junjun” L. Pacificador
20. Iloilo City Mayor Jed Patrick Escalante Mabilog
21. Carles, Iloilo Mayor Siegfredo “Salagunting” Betita
22. Maasin City, Iloilo Mayor Mariano M. Malones Sr.
23. Culasi, Antique Vice Mayor Ariel T. Alagos
24. DaangBantayan, Cebu Mayor Vicente Areño Loot
25. San Fernando, Cebu Vice Mayor Franz Cabilao Sabalones
26. Leyte 3rd District Representative Vicente Sofronio Veloso
27. Hadji Muhtamad, Basilan Mayor Jamar A. Mansul
28. Sirawai, Zamboanga del Norte Mayor Gamar Ahay Janihim
29. Sinacaban, Misamis Occidental Mayor Crisinciano Mahilac
30. Calamba, Misamis Occidental Mayor Ezel Villanueva
31. Clarin, Misamis Occidental Mayor David Navarro
32. Oroquieta City, Misamis Occidental Mayor Jason Almonte
33. Sto. Niño, South Cotabato Mayor Pablo T. Matinong Jr.
34. Banga, South Cotabato Mayor Albert D. Palencia
35. Palimbang, Sultan Kudarat Mayor Abubakar Pendatun Maulana
36. Lingig, Surigao del Sur Mayor Roberto “Jimmy” M. Luna Jr.
37. Talitay, Maguindanao Mayor Montasser Meling Sabal
38. Maguing Mayor Mamaulan Abinal Mulok
39. Ampatuan, Maguindanao Mayor Rasul Mabang Sangki
40. Talitay, Maguindanao Vice Mayor Abdulwahad Sabal
41. Datu Montawal Vice Mayor Ohto Montawal
42. Saudi Ampatuan, Maguindanao Vice Mayor Anida Dimaukom
43. Maguing Vice, Lanao del Sur Mayor Jamal Abinal Pangandamun
44. Marawi City Vice Mayor Arafat Alim Salic.

The President denounced the public officials’ involvement in drugs, saying that they have committed a crime against the Filipino people as a whole.

“This is actually treason. If you are in the government and you commit a crime, it could be likened in the olden times. It would be categorized as treason. You commit it against the people,” he explained.

The President, however, said that he has yet to bare all the names in his list, adding that sufficient evidence that would validate the said politicians’ involvement in illegal drugs has to be found and that the investigation is still ongoing.

“So let us not lump them into one. We will continue to investigate the guys in the Visayas, especially in the greater Manila area, CALABARZON. These are heavily contaminated but any initial announcement now would I think be counter-productive,” he said.

“So limitahan lang muna natin but we might decide even on election day if we can… I asked for a revalidation just to make sure that the rules of fair play come into play,” he added.

Also, President Duterte assured that the “standards of ordinary justice” would be followed.

President Duterte then allayed concerns that baring the narco-list would violate a person’s right to privacy, saying that the right of a person to privacy must be subservient to the higher right or calling of public interest.

“’Yang freedom of expression, individual right, privacy and all…these things affect only one person. But the right to public interest, security matters, the right of a nation to exist must be paramount… Apparently, the time has come that we have to deal with the truth,” he noted.

Administrative cases have been filed by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) at the Office of the Ombudsman against the politicians involved in drugs.

The Anti-Money Laundering Council and the Presidential Anti-Corruption Commission are also conducting their respective investigations.