News Release

Cebu City remains GCQ; Nueva Ecija, Batangas, Quezon Province, Iloilo City, et al also in GCQ

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) on August 14, Friday, placed Nueva Ecija, Batangas, Quezon in Luzon under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) beginning August 16, 2020 until August 31, 2020.

Other areas under GCQ are Iloilo City, Cebu City, Lapu Lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay City, the municipalities of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu province for the Visayas.

The rest of the country are placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ), with some provinces, highly urbanize cities and independent component cities with strict enforcement of local action.

The National Task Force (NTF) and the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) are directed to ensure that areas flagged for local action shall implement strict lockdown of areas in line with the Zoning Containment Strategy, strict enforcement of minimum public health standards, and intensified tracing and quarantine of close contacts and isolation of confirmed cases.

Meanwhile, the community quarantine classification of the National Capital Region (NCR), Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal will be announced by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte before the end of the MECQ classification on these areas on Tuesday, August 18. ###