On the IATF resolution regarding travel to South Korea

The Palace notes that the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has approved to impose a ban on the entry of travelers coming from the North Gyeongsang Province of South Korea into Philippine territory, effective immediately.

With respect to other parts of South Korea, the IATF shall conduct a risk assessment of the situation in the aforesaid country within 48 hours to analyze whether it is necessary to expand the travel ban thereto. In the meantime, strict protocols with respect to travelers entering the country from these areas in South Korea will continue to be observed.

The IATF has authorized Filipinos to travel to South Korea, provided that they are permanent residents thereof, leaving for study, or are overseas Filipino workers therein. They are to execute and sign a declaration, signifying their knowledge and understanding of the risks involved, prior to their travel.

The safety and security of Filipinos here and the outside the Philippines remain our primary concern. Our countrymen’s welfare is foremost in our minds as concerned officials discuss updates and recommendations on the management of the coronavirus.